Ag IGP Adamu names Lamorde, five others as DIG

By Abiola David

Acting Inspector-General of Police, Muhammed Adamu has named a former chairman of the Economic and Financial Crime Commission (EFCC) Ibrahim Lamorde, and five others, as Deputy Inspectors-General of Police (DIG).

The new DIGs were elevated from the ranks of assistant inspectors-general and commissioners of police.

The portfolio of the new DIGs is expected to announced later on Monday by the Police service Commission (PSC).

The appointment of the new police top chiefs came a day after the acting IGP retired seven DIGs for him to constitute a new management team.

The new DIGs are, Usman Tilli Abubakar, Abdulmajid Ali, Taiwo Frederick Lakanu, and Godwin Nwobodo.

Others are, who were promoted from the rank of police commissioners are: Ogbizi Michael, and Ibrahim Lamorde, a former chairman of the Economic and Financial Crimes Commission (EFCC).

The retirement of the DIGs was in accordance with the police rule which recommend the retirement of senior police officers who are of lower rank to the Inspector General, as at the time of appointment.

The affected DIGs are Maigari Dikko, the DIG in charge of finance and administration and Habila Joshak, the DIG in charge of operations.

The remaining five DIGs are Emmanuel Inyang, information and communications technology; Agboola Oshodi-Glover, logistics and supply; Mohammed Katsina, research and planning; Sani Mohammed, training and development; and Peace Ibekwe-Abdallah, federal criminal investigation and intelligence.