Only 5 Women make INEC list of 9th senate members

By Philip Shimnom Clement

Women representation in Nigeria has further suffered a big blow as only five women will be at the red chambers of the National Assembly in the 9th senate which will be inaugurated on the 9th of June 2019.

The list of senators-elect released by INEC late monday shows that two out of the five women are first term senators while three are returned elected.

The two new senators include Aisha Dahiru, Adamawa Central and Uche Ekwunife (Anambra Central)

Also, the three returning female senators are Oluremi Tinubu of Lagos West, Rose Oko of Cross River North and Stella Oduah of Anambra North.

The Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC) has released a list of senators elected for the ninth assembly.

Although the upper chamber has 109 senators, 100 senators were announced by INEC in the official document, while those that emerge victorious in the rerun elections held March 9 are yet to be included in the list.

Of the 100 senators listed, winners have emerged from the ruling All Progressives Congress (APC), the main opposition, Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) and the Young Progressives Party (YPP).

INEC had announced that APC has won 62 so far while the PDP has secured 37 seats, and Ifeanyi Ubah the only candidate that clinched the Young Progressives Party (YPP) ticket.