BREAKING: Ahmed Lawan emerges Senate President

By Philip Shimnom Clement

Senator Ahmed Lawan from Yobe state has emerged as the senate President and the chairman of the ninth national Assembly.

Lawan scored 79 votes to defeat his  closest contender, Ali Ndume from Borno state who scored 28 votes.

A total number of 107 senators voted on the floor of the Senate. The other two senators are all from Imo state who have not been given certificate of return including former governor Rocha’s Okorocha.

Lawan was preferred as the candidate of the All Progressives Congress.