SETBACK: Reps makes U-turn, rejects 6yrs single term for president, govs

In a twist, the House of Representatives have made a u-turn and rejected the proposed six (6) years single term of president and state governors.

The development has now put to rest the attempt by political cohorts of President Muhammadu Buhari who were hitherto lobbying for his tenure extension through the proposed 6yrs single term bill.

The bill was sponsored by Reps member John Dyegh of the All Progressive Congress (APC), representing Boko/Tarka federal constituency in Benue state and had earlier passed through a first reading but was turned down after the second reading by the House.

The bill seeks to change the tenure of President from the 4years of two terms to a single term of 6years. It also include the state governors, National Assembly (NASS) members and State Houses of Assembly (SHA) members.