INEC deregisters 74 political parties as 2023 elections draws near

By David Abiola, Abuja

The Independent National Electoral Commission has announced the deregistration of 74 political parties as preparations for the 2023 general elections started.

INEC Chairman, Prof. Mahmood Yakubu, stated this during a press briefing in Abuja on Thursday.

According to the new decision, Nigeria now has 18 political parties.

The Chairman said, 75 political parties didn’t satisfy the requirement but one went to court.

The successful parties are Accord Party, Action Alliance, African Action Congress, African Democratic Congress, All Progressives Congress, All Progressives Grand Alliance and Allied Peoples Movement.

Others are Labour Party, New Nigeria Peoples Party, National Rescue Movement, Peoples Democratic Party, Peoples Redemption Party, Social Democratic Party, Young Progressives Party, and Zenith Labour Party.

But Mahmood noted that the Booth Party, which registered after 2019, would continue to exist

“Nigeria now has 18 parties,” Mahmood stated.

Meanwhile, the list of the political parties deregistered by the Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC) on Thursday is given below:

1) AAP – Advanced Allied Party

(2) ABP – All Blending Party

(3) ACD- Advanced Congress of Democrats

(4) ACPN – Allied Congress Party of Nigeria

AD – Alliance for Democracy

AGA – All Grassroots Alliance

AGAP – All Grand Alliance Party

ANDP – Advanced Nigeria Democratic Party

ANN – Alliance for New Nigeria

ANP – Alliance National Party

ANRP – Abundant Nigeria Renewal Party

APA – African People Alliance

APDA – Advanced People’s Democratic Alliance

APN – Alternative Party of Nigeria

ASD – Alliance of Social Democrats

AUN – Alliance for A United Nigeria

BNPP – Better Nigeria Progressive Party

CAP – Change Advocacy Party

CC – Coalition for Change

CNP – Change Nigeria Party

COP – Congress of Patriots

DA – Democratic Alternative

DPC – Democratic People’s Congress

DPP – Democratic People’s Party

FDP – Fresh Democratic Party

FJP – Freedom and Justice Party

GDPN – Grassroots Development Party of Nigeria

GPN – Green Party of Nigeria

HDP – Hope Democratic Party

ID – Independent Democrats

JMPP – Justice Must Prevail Party

KP – Kowa Party

LM – Liberation Movement

LPN – Legacy Party of Nigeria

MAJA – Mass Action Joint Alliance

MDP – Modern Democratic Party

MMN – Masses Movement of Nigeria

MPN – Mega Party of Nigeria

MRDD – Movement for The Restoration and Defense of Democracy

NAC – National Action Council

NCMP – Nigeria Community Movement Party

NCP – National Conscience Party

NDCP – Nigeria Democratic Congress Party

NDLP – National Democratic Liberty Party

NEPP – Nigeria Elements Progressive Party

NFD – Nigeria for Democracy

NGP – New Generation Party of Nigeria

NIP – National Interest Party

NPC – Nigeria People’s Congress

NPM – New Progressive Movement

NUP – National Unity Party

PDC – People for Democratic Change

PDM – People’s Democratic Movement

PPA – Progressive People’s Alliance

PPC – Providence People’s Congress

PPN – People’s Party of Nigeria

PPP – People’s Progressive Party

PT – People’s Trust

RAP – Reform and Advancement Party

RBNP – Re-Build Nigeria Party

RP – Restoration Party of Nigeria

SNC – Save Nigeria Congress

SNP – Sustainable National Party

SPN – Socialist Party of Nigeria

UDP – United Democratic Party

UP – United Patriots

UPC – United People’s Congress

UPN – Unity Party of Nigeria

UPP – United Progressive Party

WTPN – We The People Nigeria

YDP – Young Democratic Party

YES – Electorates Solidarity

YP – Youth Party