JUST IN: Katsina, 8 other northern states to shut down all schools over Coronavirus 

Schools in the North West geo-political region are to be closed for 30 days to protect citizens from the impact of Corona virus, according to governors of the nine states in the region.
Governor Aminu Bello Masari announced the decision in a communique at the end of the meeting of North West Governors held at Sir Kashim Ibrahim House Kaduna on Wednesday.
Alhaji Aminu Masari explained that measures shall be taken in each of the states in consultation with examination bodies to close schools for a period of thirty days starting from Monday, 23 of March, 2020.
In addition, he said states shall carryout sensitisation campaigns to discourage large gatherings.
He added that states should continue to wage campaigns to encourage citizens to uphold personal environmental hygiene.
Governor Masari explained that the meeting had asked Governors to jointly fund security operations to confront the menace of banditry.
The Governor explained that the Governor of Kwara State had agreed to implement decisions arrived at during the meeting.
Consequently, however, the governors said the measure shall be taken by each of the states, in consultation with the national examination bodies.
The communique was jointly signed by Governor Aminu Bello Masari as chairman of the North West Governor’s forum and Alhaji Abubakar Sani Bello of Niger state who signed as chairman of the North Central Governors Forum.
The nine northern states include Jigawa, Kaduna, Kano, Katsina, Kebbi, Kwara, Niger, Sokoto, and Zamfara.